Skip to content

Getting Our Hands Dirty with Irish Dirt

August 5, 2009

We’ve talked about Official Irish Dirt before, but we never actually tested it out for ourselves. So, we thought we should see firsthand what it’s all about.

The folks at the Auld Sod Export Company were kind enough to send a supply of Official Irish Dirt to my mom and dad’s greenhouse/nursery in Michigan, so they could put it to the test.

My mom decided to plant it with some Irish Moss (she was fresh out of shamrocks). We’ll be following the plant’s progress and reporting back to on how it does now that it’s back on the “auld sod.”

You can win your own Official Irish Dirt Gift Set as part of our Gifts from Arthur Giveaway. Just leave a comment (maybe tell us the special use you’ll have for Official Irish Dirt), and you’ll be entered into the drawing.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina Paterson-Bryant permalink
    August 5, 2009 9:06 PM

    Oh Sigh….I think I shall have to purchase some and tell them who sent me! Just to be able to smell it would be a bit o heaven!
    Cheers Again Lads for the find!
    Now if I could get Irish bangers shipped here for less than $50 I’d be set LOL šŸ™‚

  2. Wildcat permalink
    August 5, 2009 9:34 PM

    I don’t have any Irish Dirt but I do have Irish Moss in my garden. I love the Irish Moss. Wait does Turf count as dirt? I have small pieces of Turf to burn like incense. Hope that counts.

  3. Sherrie McCauley permalink
    August 9, 2009 10:12 AM

    I just bought some with clovers from GaelSong. My husband thinks I’m nuts but all I can say is this is truly the best thing since sliced bread. Lets see now if I can get it to grow. I really don’t have a green thumb but am will to try.

  4. August 9, 2009 7:24 PM

    Ooooh I would love to try some clover or shamrock!

Leave a Reply

