Skip to content

Lashing Down Rain Lunch Hour

May 28, 2009
by

Lashing Down Rain, originally uploaded by IrishFireside.

liam says…

I waited in the car for the hardware store employees to return from lunch. It was lashing down rain, and the water pouring down my windshield warped the scene in front of me.

After waiting an hour in the parking lot, I finally approached the door after another customer entered. Ended up the staff had returned from lunch before I arrived. They just hadn’t changed the sign.

It always takes a bit of time for me to get used to shops closing for lunch. The practice is more common in Ireland than in the US (although becoming less and less).

It can be a bit frustrating when every stop on your list closes up at the same time…usually between 1 & 2pm.

The side effect is that most of the restaurants fill up during this time with the popular ones packed to capacity. That’s when you realize this “inconvenient” tradition actually turns the lunch hour into a brilliant social event…which comes as a bit of surprise to a rushed eat-and-run American.

My shopping list at the hardware store included PVC fascia and soffit for addition I’m building on the cottage. Also needed new taps for the sink…the old ones were rusted out in side. Stopped at the bulk grocery store, Lidl for a few provisons.

With the car filled with my purchases, I back up the mountain to meet my electrician Jamie who is fixing the instant heat shower he installed last summer.

It has already been a long, frustrating day, but I’m loving every minute of it…I just wish it did’t cost so much.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pat Hughes permalink
    May 29, 2009 5:09 AM

    Hi Liam I’m keeping up with whats going on in Ireland by your blog. Good to hear from you. Say hello to everyone for me.

    Love you,
    MOM.

Leave a Reply

