Skip to content

Remembering Grand Junction

February 16, 2009
by

Sculpture in Grand Junction, originally uploaded by IrishFireside.

Liam says…Twenty-some years ago I moved to Grand Junction, CO, and today was my first time back. The town has grown up a lot since I was here. I can see where the old “edge of town” used to be, but new construction extends well beyond those old boundaries.

For the most part, I didn’t recognize a majority the town, but I did find some familiar scenes. The downtown remains intact…of course most of the stores have changed. The shoe stores are still there…my sister dragged me there so many times when we lived there.

Enstrom’s Almond Toffee has grown into a full-fledged factory now…I remember waiting in line outside waiting to buy some toffee for gifts. I spotted my sister’s old house, the church my niece and nephew were baptized in, the Taco Bell my sister worked at for two days, the old-dive pizza parlor that is now a pool store.

The one thing I couldn’t find was the 7-Eleven my sister and I had to walk to when my car ran out of gas. We didn’t have our money on us, and the clerk needed a deposit. I left my sister…she still has not forgiven me for that. She said the clerk stared at her the entire time…hoping I wouldn’t return.

Ah, the memories keep pouring back.

On a trip note, Corey and I both got our hair cut today and did laundry…exciting, huh?

Here are a few pics http://flickr.com/photos/irishfireside/sets/72157613985040236/

One Comment leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:04 PM

    Was drinking diet coke and it almost came out my nose when I read that you left your sister as a deposit, Liam! I can soooo see you doing that.

    Glad you guys are still having fun, making new memories and exploring the old ones. Continue to be safe!

    SK

Leave a Reply

