Skip to content

Eleventh Video from the Road

February 2, 2009
by

Watch in HD at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_1BpDvP3UjI&fmt=22

10 Comments leave one →
  1. netta permalink
    February 2, 2009 7:05 AM

    Hey, I think these guys are quilified to be Betty Crockery taste testers…netta

  2. jim sanford permalink
    February 2, 2009 9:11 PM

    Corey & Liam,
    Enjoyed the 11th video (Bit, San Xavier. and “Hoolie at the Sanford’s”). Looking forward to the next one. By the way, if you still have that copy of the Desert Shamrock from the Irish Cultural Center, there is a story on page 4 titled “Irish Tales from Arizona Territory” – “The Gleeson Family, Mining the West”. I’ve been to the “Ghost” town of Gleeson in Southeastern Arizona and sent my cousin, Tom Gleeson of Carlow Town in Ireland the story and photos we took when we visited. It never dawned on me that there might be a connection, but in the second paragragh of the article there it is: “John Gleeson was born in Upperchurch, County Tipperary on November 11th, 1861”. There’s also reference to some more Ryans and I’d be willing to bet that someone at “Jimmy the Mills” from the Upperchurch area might know of these Gleesons or Ryans. Thought you might be interested. Slan, Jim P.S. Let me know if you plan to go through either Las Vegas or Denver on your return home.

    • October 25, 2009 8:42 PM

      We are researching information on Gleeson Arizona the ghost town…We desperatly need information on John Gleeson the founder…please check out our website and see what we have done. Thanks Tina Miller

  3. February 6, 2009 4:22 PM

    lol, I haven’t been to the Maverick since it burned down many many years ago, but we were in Tucson this past Thanksgiving and my daughter went out to San Xavier mission and got a few photos. I went to the midnight Mass at San Xavier one Xmas.

  4. Stephen Gleeson permalink
    June 27, 2009 2:49 PM

    hi!

    Im a Gleeson from Upperchurch and just found out last week about this relative who went to the frontiers of America over a hundred years ago… I was in New York recently and met a relative who told me all about it.
    Im amazed and humbled.
    Amazed that someone from Moher in Upperchurch could travel all the way to Arizona and have a town called after him.His great grand nephew still lives in the same house John grew up in.
    Its a story i hadnt heard before i went to visit Gleesons in New York.I would love to visit Gleeson Arizona in the future.

    Well done to all those that documented the history here on the web.

    • October 25, 2009 8:44 PM

      Please check out our website It may very well be your relatives. Let me know any information you may have….Tina Miller

      • jim sanford permalink
        October 27, 2009 7:39 PM

        To: Tina Miller
        I would love to check your website and your info on John Gleeson but I don’t have it and it doesn’t appear in your letters. Also, if Stephen Gleeson can get this I would be curious to know how much info he has on John Gleeson and his life in Arizona. I would be glad to help if I can.

  5. June 27, 2009 3:13 PM

    Stephen,

    The Irish played an amazing role in shaping North America. We found so many examples of this on our roadtrip.

    Hey, I had some friends who were at the Mill on Thursday night… so glad that tradition continues. Did you listen to our interview with Jim’s daughter Aine? It’s at https://irishfireside.wordpress.com/2007/11/14/episode-29-dingle-aine/

  6. jim sanford permalink
    October 27, 2009 8:21 PM

    Tina, Sorry, I spoke too soon. Found your website. Great info on history of Gleeson. Have you seen the article from the Desert Shamrock that I referred to from Jan. or Feb. ’09? Jim Sanford

  7. October 28, 2009 9:54 AM

    Jim, Steven, Corey…This is all so very exciting….any possibility of a photograph of the Gleeson house. I will try and locate the publication you mentioned. I also forwarded this information on to Glenn Snow our historian extraordinair for this project. Let me Mention April 30th is the 100 year anniversary of The Gleeson Jail we plan on a big Birthday Bash…Of Course you are invited. We do have a death certificate for John Gleeson, He along with his wife Elizabeth are buried in Bisbee, Arizona…Keep in touch….Regards Tina

Leave a Reply

