Skip to content

Angels in Texas

January 21, 2009
by

Corey says…we just stopped for lunch in Amarillo, and witnessed something that warmed my heart.

A young man entered the restaurant. He was obviously homeless and hungry. He approached a couple seated at a table and asked if they could spare some money for food.

He caught the couple off guard, but after a pause, the woman reached for her purse. As she did that, a man at a table nearby approached and asked the young man, “You want something to eat?”

The young man nodded.

“Follow me.” The two men walked up to the counter and the man bought the younger man lunch.

It was absolutely the right thing to do. Regardless of the young man’s background, no matter how he ended up in the situation he was in, he needed to eat.

I sat for a moment and thought about how jaded living in the city has made me. Every week, I am asked repeatesly by homeless people for money “for the bus” only to see them at the corner store buying cigarettes and beer a liitle later.

The truth is, there are many people who are truly in need, and it was an honor to see someone’s gut reaction to seeing someone who needed help.

Since the young man had food in his belly, my mind turned immediately to the other man sitting with his family. I felt the overwhelming need to say “thank you.”

I got out of my seat, walked outside to Fiona (our van) and pulled out our last Lenox Smiling Shamrocks angel figurine from our holiday giveawy box. I knew I had found a good home for her.

I wrote a quick note “Your good deeds are appreciated,” and then returned to the restaurant to give it to the man and his family. I tried to be as low kwy as possible…these were not the kind of people who intended to draw attention to themselves. Of course they were very surprised…in fact, a bit shocked.

I did not get their names. All I know is that I met an angel today, and I will not forget this experience.

One Comment leave one →
  1. netta permalink
    January 21, 2009 6:49 PM

    Ah, you are truely your mothers son. You have passed the torch. It is great fun to be an angel or watch an angel at work. Keep it up, play it forward. love, mom

Leave a Reply

