Skip to content

Cliffs of Moher

July 20, 2008
by

Cliffs of Moher, originally uploaded by IrishFireside.

liam says…My new guests are all settled in, and I took them to the Cliffs of Moher today. We were blessed with good weather…and with the help of meds, I’m fighting my back pain. I’m not comfortable, but I’m functioning. Getting in and out of the car is the worst.

The guests I have Eddie and Katie are a lot of fun, so I think we’re going to be in for a great week of touring and good times.

We also stopped at Saint Brigid’s Well before going to the Cliffs. It’s always a strange and wonderful place. Some people think it’s creepy with all the prayer cards, pictures and trinkets people leave behind, but for me knowing that each of those represent a prayer is very peaceful and spiritual.

I’ll keep posting photos…as it helps take my mind off my back.

MORE PHOTOS from the past few days.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bill permalink
    July 20, 2008 11:00 PM

    Your cottage seems to be within driving distance from some beautiful sites. I looked at your web site and tried to determine the location based on the nearby sites. Is there a reason you don’t give a more precise location – like a google map link or a lat/long for something close by? Seems to be NE of Limerick and SW of Nenagh. Perhaps south of the N7 – but not too far given the proximity to Lough Derg?

    The lack of a precise location brings out the detective in me 🙂 Maybe you just don’t want people stopping by unannounced!

    I’ve heard the traffic around Limerick is difficult and it is good to be a fair distance away when driving from a home base to various sites. Seems like your location might be far enough away.

    Thanks!

  2. July 20, 2008 11:47 PM

    Bill,

    Your right, I am specifically vague about my location. In part, because I don’t run the type of B&B where people can just drive up and stay for a night. Also, the place is often rented out for self-catering, and I don’t want my guests disturbed.

    About 99% of my business comes from referrals, so the website is intended to back up what they heard about me from friends and family. The exact location tends to come up much later in our dialog.

    If anyone is interested in getting more info…I am happy to provide all kinds of details. I just don’t want to post it for the entire internet world to see.

    Traffic can be very slow around Limerick…especially this summer with a lot of construction. A large bypass is in the works and should open next year…that will help alleviate some of the driving woes…especially since it is supposed to go right to Shannon Airport.

    Liam

Leave a Reply

