Skip to content

Gregorian Chant & Dinner

May 18, 2008
by

corey says…My first morning back, I headed to Glenstal for the mass. School is still in session, so the boys did the readings and a young boy sang the psalm. His voice was amazing. Of course the mass also had its usual Gregorian chant and loads of incense as well.

Tony was there with his parents, so we all went for tea in teh reception area after mass. Tony’s father was greeted by the same cheerful monk who insisted he sing loudly during mass. Tony’s dad asked, “Did you hear me singing?”

“Aye, I did…and yee have a terrible voice. I could hear it from where I was standin’.”

After mass, I ran some errands and then it was back to Knockahopple to start getting the house ready. Time flew and before I knew it, it was time for me to be heading to Tony’s neighbors Jimmy and Kathleen for dinner.

As usual Kathleen had an enormous spread put out for us. Vegetable soup, salad, fresh rolls, beef roast, mashed potatoes, boiled potatoes, broccoli, pavlova (my favorite!)…and of course all of that was followed up with tea and an apple tart and a rhubarb tart. I waddled home quite stuffed.

Unfortunately, I left my camera a Jimmy and Kathleen’s, so no photos to upload right now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

