Skip to content

At the Seaside

May 16, 2008
by



Dunes to Mountains

corey says…I’m a bit curious if my request for a “corporate rate” at the hotel got me one of the less favorable rooms. Overall, the room was fine, but when I opened the windows (it was quite stuffy in the room) it looked out over the roof and fans of the kitchen. There was a constant hum and the smell of fried foods. Then when I flushed the toilet…the pipes would moan loudly for about ten seconds. I suppose I could have complained, but it was still a nicer room than anywhere else I had stayed.

I lingered a bit in the morning…taking an extra long shower and just hanging out. At one point, the maid opened the door without knocking. She was clearly surprised I was in there. She apologized profusely. Then I remembered the woman at reception crossing of a room number on the card she handed me and writing 218 at on it…I was probably logged for another room…and she was putting me in the hot stinky room.

Lough Gill, Parkes Castle & Strandhill
After my leisurely start, I continued my trip around Lough Gill. It’s a picturesque lake and Parkes Castle down the road is gorgeous as well. I toured the castle and then continued to the ocean.

My first glimpse of the sea happened at Strandhill, County Sligo. The beach there was huge…partly due to low tide, and the dunes were extensive as well. I couldn’t resist climbing to the top. Fantastic view, but a strenuous climb.

Ceide Fields
I emptied the sand out of my shoes before hopping back in the car. Then I simply drove along the coast stopping here and there, but not really trying to catch any sites or history. I was just enjoying the drive.

I stopped at Ciede Fields and took the tour there. I found it very interesting and the centre is very well done. From there I zigzagged around the countryside and ended up in Castlebar for the night. There, I walk the path along Castlebar Lough, snooped around the cemetery there and recorded a podcast.

This Week’s Photo Album

My Ireland Expense Report

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 1, 2008 11:02 PM

    Hi,
    I hope you are well. I wanted to comment about your Seaside Podcast.

    My friend and I went to Ireland last August to visit family. We didn’t go to very many tourist site. Instead we got the family tour. We saw the house her grandmother grew up in, the church my grandfather went to and ate a different home’s Irish breakfast everyday. (Minus the day we took your brilliant advise to stay at Trinity college.)

    Anyway what I wanted to say was that your episode about Strandhill (which is a 10 minute drive from my cousin’s house) reminded me of our trip and for a moment brought me back home.

    Keep up the good work,
    Karen Beirne

Leave a Reply

