Skip to content

Mud Bath

May 15, 2008
by



Crevelea Abbey

corey says…Okay, ever since I went subterranean this afternoon, I’m finding mud on some of the strangest places on my body.

How, I want to know, did I end up with a streak of mud on the small of my back? And what about my thigh? How did it get there? Hmmmm, sounds like one more mysteries for the ancient site.

I’m still giddy from my experience in Tulsk. In fact, I feel like I’m on a high. I think it comes from the fact that I discovered something I had never even knew existed.

Once I moved out of Tulsk, I decided that I needed to see the sea. The ocean called, and that meant heading west toward Sligo.

Before reaching Sligo, I decided to veer off the main road and try find a place to stay that was off-the-beaten-path. Well, my plan kind of worked and kind of backfired. I found an out-of-the-way place, but it was at a hotel and it cost me €60 ( $92 ). Ouch. It was going to be €45 ( $70 ), but there was €20 single supplement charge. Double ouch. Seeing that there were no other cars in the parking lot, I felt confident in asking if they had a corporate rate. She clicked a few buttons and told me the best she could do was another €5 off.

That’s more than I wanted to pay for a place outside of the city, but alas, I was ready to settle in and the village of Dromahair, County Leitrim felt right, so I booked it.

Abbey Walk
After check in, I decided to take advantage of the extra hours of sunlight and went for a run. Behind the hotel there was a river path that lead to an abbey ruin. It was along the Sligo Way hiking trail, so I continued down the trail. It was a great hike with the rough seaswept hills as a backdrop and green and gold farmland in the foreground.

The only drawback is that the area has a lot of new houses. They are all spaced quite far apart, but the area would have been very remote ten years ago. Now, it has minivans and soccer nets in the front yards.

Now, I’m quite tired, and I want to be well rested for breakfast tomorrow, as I have about €20 worth of food I need to try and eat 😉

I managed to put up a new podcast today as well. Have a look at http://irishfireside.com/podcast.htm

Next up, a view of the ocean!

This Week’s Photo Album

My Ireland Expense Report

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2008 12:24 AM

    Hi, Corey,
    Delighted to see that you are heading toward the sea. We drove near Dromahair last month – the Glencar Lake area, to the north, was looking particularly beautiful in the spring sunshine.
    Years ago, I stayed in Dromahair – there was a small guesthouse there then whose name escapes me now (I am talking 1970s/80’s). I know it is no longer operating under the same name, but I do remember it was on the River Bonet. It may indeed be the same place you stayed. It is a gorgeous part of Ireland, and one that is often overlooked by visitors. By now you may be in Sligo or Donegal… or Mayo.
    Are you seeing many American tourists in your travels? Maybe not now, because you have been somewhat off the beaten path. But once you get to the coast, you may encounter some. It sounded like you did mix with a bus of US tourists at Strokestown House. We found that there were not many tourists from America in Donegal, Sligo or Mayo when we were there, but it was a month ago now, still early “in the season.”
    I have added a new installment to my web site Blog – “Finding the Real Ireland.” It sounds like you are doing exactly that!
    Hope you enjoy the weekend – wherever you are!
    Best,
    PAT

  2. May 18, 2008 11:30 AM

    It probably was the same place. It’s now the Abbey Manor. It’s quite nice and there’s a nice path to the abbey ruin. However, my room was oddly situated, and the fans for the kitchen were right outside my window…there was a constant hum and a slight smell of grease.

    I don’t think the room is regularly used…it seemed to be a storehouse for “Do Not Disturb” signs, and the maid came into my room in the morning unannounced and was beside herself apologizing and saying there wasn’t supposed to be anyone in there (fortunately, I was decent at the moment). I suspect my request for a discount might have scored me the worst room in the house (which if it’s the worst room, then the rest of the place must be exceptionally nice). The one annoying thing was that each time I flushed the toilet the pipes moaned.

    Not too many US tourists. The misbehaving Strokestown tour group were from Northern Ireland. Lots of motorhomes from France, Germany and the Netherlands on Achill Island. Lot’s of Northern Ireland/UK plates in Roscommon & Mayo, but that may be due to the proximity to the border.

    Thanks for your article (http://web.mac.com/patpreston/Site_13/Blog/Entries/2008/5/15_Finding_the_%E2%80%9CReal_Ireland%E2%80%9D.html)

Leave a Reply

