Skip to content

Glenstal In Bloom & FREE Internet

May 4, 2008



Glenstal Abbey Drive

corey says…It’s a perfect day today, and I started it with mass at Glenstal Abbey. The monks and their Gregorian chant sounded excellent. And there was a special treat as the psalm was sung by a guest musician. It might have been Noirin Ni Riain…but I’m not sure. All I can say is that she was amazing…and definitely a professional singer.

To add to the splendor of the morning, the trees around the Glenstal Gardens were in bloom…just as Pat Preston from www.IrelandExpert.com had promised.

Later it was an errands afternoon with stops all over the county for various items. I’m again in love with Tesco…they had almost all the office supplies I needed at great prices.

The BIG find of the day, was a spot where I picked up free WiFi. Oh it was glorious to not be tethered to snail’s pace dial-up.

My big job was uploading several new pieces of Liam’s Shard Jewelry. You can view it at www.LamplighterStudio.com.

I probably looked a little odd working from my car with the windows rolled down and the sun shining in, but I certainly didn’t care. It was highspeed internet AND it was FREE.

Now my battery is almost out of juice, so I must sign off. Hopefully, my secret internet spot will be available tomorrow as well.

And hey, if you’re reading this go ahead and leave a comment, I’d love to hear who’s checking in…the stats are through the roof, so I know you’re out there 😉

This Week’s Photo Album
My Ireland Expense Report

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Missy permalink
    May 4, 2008 5:10 PM

    Hey Corey, I just happened upon your website by looking at others. My best friend and I are planning on going to Ireland in September. We live in Michigan and decided we need a little inspiration before we prepare to deal with the great winters here! We’ve both always wanted to go, and now we are endeavoring to do Ireland on a budget. I’ve found your site to be quite interesting and appreciate places where I can look up what I need.

    Have a great day!

    Missy

  2. May 4, 2008 8:16 PM

    Hi, Corey,
    Yes, I am one of the people checking your Blog each day, it is almost as good as if we were still in Ireland! Glad you enjoyed the Spring flowers and blooming trees at Glenstal.
    It probably was Noirin Ni Riain singing at Glenstal this morning. She is often there – we saw her singing there a couple of years ago. Did you take a look at the Glenstal chocolate truffles in the shop? They look so delicious, but, alas, none are sugar-free so I can not sample any (I’m diabetic). They keep them in the little refrigerated case by the pay desk.
    Happy to see that the weather has remained blue skies and sunny for you. Your expense report is a very good idea – and helpful to all.
    Enjoy every minute of your trip!
    Best from John and myself.
    PAT
    http://www.IrelandExpert.com

  3. May 4, 2008 11:03 PM

    corey says…

    Missy, I’m a Michigan native myself (Posen…near Alpena) and Liam’s from the U.P. (Ishpeming). Glad to hear you’re finding the site useful. If you go to our About Us page at http://irishfireside.com/about.htm you’ll find some other very helpful links. Feel free to email us with any questions…or you can visit Pat Preston’s forum (her message is just below your’s), and you’ll find all kinds of info.

    Pat, I did buy some chocolates…I splurged and bought the bigger box too. Tony and I watched a few episodes of Killinaskully (it’s filmed just down the road) and sampled three different chocolates…one for each episode we watched. We decided to have two more Killinaskully & Glenstal chocolate evenings….after that we have to buy more chocolates.

    The chocolates are very tasty and the flavors are quite varied. They are all made with liquors from different monasteries in Europe…some candies quite mild, others a bit stronger. Alas, that are actually made especially for Glenstal by Lilly O’Briens. My vision of the monks meticulously crafting each treat by hand have been dashed…but once I had the chocolate in my mouth, I didn’t care who made it. It was delicious.

  4. Netta permalink
    May 5, 2008 10:09 AM

    Sounds like your weather is the same as here in Michigan. The sunny skies are teasing us. Any hope of spring is quickly changed by the cold winds. The flowers sure do brighten the place up. Try more perennials to stretch your money!!! Have a great day.

  5. Missy permalink
    May 5, 2008 12:10 PM

    Thanks for the tips! I live in Sterling Heights, about a half hour to 40 min north of Detroit. I’m having a blast looking all this stuff up!

    Thanks Again,

    Have a great one!

    Missy

  6. May 5, 2008 12:37 PM

    Netta (mom) – Glad to hear you’re getting some sun too. I can’t believe how nice it is here. I’m careful not to get too hopeful though…things started nice last summer too…then it was weeks of endless rain.

    Missy – Glad to hear you’re keeping it fun. My favorite Ireland travel guides for keeping on a budget are Lonely Planet and Frommer’s Ireland From $90 A Day. Let’s Go and MTV are also pretty good.

Leave a Reply

