Skip to content

Ireland – can you afford not to go?

April 23, 2008

corey says…Hats off to the folks who write the subject line of Tourism Ireland’s email blasts. Yesterday’s subject line read “Ireland – can you afford not to go?” I must admit, it got my attention…it REALLY got my attention.

I clicked! I was ready for some big sale. Maybe cheap airfare. Maybe a cutthroat deal on a tour. Maybe a five-star castlestay for under $500. Maybe some secret plan by the Irish government to woo weak dollar weary Americans (US). Nope, just the usual deals they feature on the page.

Talk about a disappointment. The email did more to focus on the features of the Discover Ireland website, which makes our list of Best Websites for Dreaming About Ireland, but come on, if they’re going to tempt us with lines about not being able to afford NOT to go, they really need to deliver.

They did have an offer for a cultural discount pass…which mostly has 2-for-1 coupons, but that’s been available year-round for a while now. You can have a look at http://www.shamrock.org/broadcast08/April08.1/

Alas, if I hear of some truly astounding deals, I’ll be sure to let you know.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ned permalink
    April 24, 2008 9:53 AM

    Cory:

    I agree — saw the same thing and was certainly not impressed that there were no actual deals to be had. I guess we can keep dreaming. I’m planning to go in October, so maybe by the so-called off season, there will be something in the way of somewhat cheaper fares. Right now it is rough when you think about booking a trip.

  2. April 25, 2008 9:16 AM

    Yeah, October hasn’t been presenting too many deals lately. I remember getting offers for 2-4-1 flights and all kinds of other October bargains. Now, flights are only a little cheaper than July. At least there are fewer tourists…I just wish it had summer’s long days.

    Good luck planning your trip.

  3. September 15, 2009 7:39 AM

    My wife and I are planning to visit Ireland in March 2010. I have found that while there are not any great bargains advertised for lodging (self-catering), if you email and request a deal, most are willing to bring down their price.

    I would be interested in any information on Co. Wicklow.

  4. September 15, 2009 7:49 AM

    When it comes to B&Bs & self-catering, I refer to the message boards at http://www.irelandexpert.com and http://www.irelandyes.com. Pat and Michele will give their personal recommendations, and their online communities will pipe in as well.

    Prices have come down a bit on self-catering places, but huge discounts won’t be found (most were already the most economical option).

    Good luck and safe travels.

  5. June 13, 2010 9:43 AM

    With the euro under pressure at the moment, and with Ireland still in recession, there is great value to be had right now. I am just back from a week travelling around the west of Ireland and stayed in some really nice hotels that were very reasonable. I booked some of them on the bookassist.com website which offers discounts on rack rates. What really impressed me was that some of the places I visited – like Ross Castle in Killarney, and Coole Park in Galway (remember Yeats and thee Wild Seans at Coole?) were both free admission. Well, to be fair, I think you had to pay to see inside Ross Castle, but you could wander around outdoors free of charge. I took a boat trip by waterbus on the Lakes of Killarney from Ross Castle and it cost just 10 euro for an hour. Thoroughly enjoyable.

    Ron, I hope you enjoyed your visit to my home county of Wicklow. I am sorry I didn’t see your comment earlier as I have some info on places to visit and some tips on Wicklow on my website.

Leave a Reply

