Skip to content

The Neighbors

October 3, 2007
by

corey says…Despite waking to the sound of rain pelting the roof, today turned out to be very sunny and warm.

But before the sun came out, I was off to get my haircut in Newport (I just didn’t get a chance to do it before I left). It’s a funny feeling when things like a haircut in Ireland begin to sound like everyday experiences. The woman behind the scissors did a fine job. She had spent ten years in New York, so we also traded jet lag prevention strategies.

She told me about how one year when she arrived in the US, she was trying to keep herself and her 4-year-old awake until 9pm. At 7:30 she decided they should go for ice cream. They bought their cones and sat on a park bench to enjoy them. Unfortunately, they both fell asleep before they finished their cones, so there they were, mother and daughter, leaning against each other on a park bench with ice cream melting between their fingers. It gave me a great visual.

Then I was off to Limerick to pick up a bit of tech gear. Of course it sickened me to see that the most important item I needed costed the same in euros as it did in dollars back home. Ouch…that means it costed me about 40% more than if I bought in the States. I’ll try not to think about that.

I had several photos I needed printed to give to friends over here, so I organized them on my computer over lunch. Then I went into Nenagh and dropped off the disk at the photo store. Normally, they’d have them ready in an hour or so, but it was late in the day and I had 201 photos. They were gracious that I didn’t mind picking them up tomorrow.

Once I got home, I went for a walk and met Tony’s neighbors…a mare and her foal. I can see them from the front door, but up close…they are magnificent animals. I grew up on a dairy farm, so cows don’t thrill me much, but horses fascinate me.

Tony’s human neighbor Jimmy stopped by later to jump start Tony’s car. I’ll be picking Tony up from the airport tomorrow, so Jimmy wanted to make sure the car was going to start for him.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

