Skip to content

Rhubarb-Apple Charlotte

July 5, 2007
by

corey says…A friend gave me a recipe the other day, and I’ve been anxious to try it. So when I woke up this morning, I jumped right in peeling apples and de-crusting a loaf of bread.

With a stick and a half of butter in it, it has to be good, right? Well, it looked great when it came out of the oven, but it’s supposed to be served chilled or at room temperature. So into the fridge it went.

Then it was off to Nenagh to run some errands. I invited Liam and his guests to Tony’s to give the dessert a try. From the tastes I took of the ingredients while I was making it and the fact that the outside was quite crispy, I knew it would taste great with a heavy cream sauce. Alas, I didn’t have my usual recipe handy, so I used a little trick I picked up on accident a few years ago…I heated some vanilla ice cream on the stove and then poured it over the dessert. Perfection!

The dessert is a Rhubarb-Apple Charlotte which is a cross between bread pudding and a tart.

Special Delivery
After dessert was served, Tony got a call that his couch was arriving, so there was a scurry to clear a path. Tony drove off to meet the delivery men on a nearby road (otherwise they may never find his place), and Liam took his guests back to Knockahopple for a little break before they went to Jim O’ the Mill’s.

The delivery truck arrived and the furniture wouldn’t fit through the front door on account of the nearly 3-foot deep walls, so around the back they went. The legs on the couch were not attached yet, so it fit quite easily, but the chair Tony bought was just a little bit too big to fit through the door of his sitting room. As a result, Tony decided that chair was best suited for the bedroom.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

