Skip to content

Hiking Discovery

June 7, 2007
by

corey says… Today was an errand and writing day, but I did take time out to go for a hike. I drove to the other side of the mountain to the Step Viewing Area, parked the car and ran up the forestry road. Along the way, I saw a post with an icon of a hiker and an arrow pointing up a small set of steps and a trail. I had run the forestry roads before, but never this one and never saw the trail before. I decided to give it a try.

It was a steady climb ever higher up the mountain. After about 20 minutes on a slope that varied from 30 to 50 degrees, I had to slow down to a walk…just about the time I reached the top.

Oh, what a sight to behold! The forestry was behind me, and I was on top of the world. Looking out over the valleys, I spied across the way to mighty Keeper Hill. The sun was brilliant, the sky was and amazing blue, and I had just discovered a glorious trail that was literally in my back yard.

The hills were rather boggy, even at this height, and covered in heather. These hills must turn brilliant purple when the heather is in bloom at the end of summer.

From this first point, I followed the path steeply down the hill and then steeply up the next. The panorama gave me views of the entire countryside. From up here, I could see the remains of the mine that gave the Silvermines their name. I went down and up one last time before heading back the way I came.

This goes down as one of the most breathtaking hikes I’d taken in Ireland.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

