Skip to content

Start Planning Your Dream Vacation to Ireland

January 3, 2007
by

Okay, you’ve been dreaming long enough about going to Ireland. 2007 is the year to make it happen. We’ve dedicated and entire episode to getting your planning started. If you’re still waffling, send us an email with your concerns…we’ll try to set you right and get you booked.

You can find the new episode at www.irishfireside.com And don’t forget to sign up for our Irish Fireside E-Newsletter…we’re always working on interesting stories and tidbits to share with our subscribers.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    January 19, 2007 7:45 PM

    Liam & Corey,

    I found your Podcasts on iTunes just two days ago and I was hooked! Now I’m an addict and it’s all your fault! I’m looking forward, nay, JONESING for the February episode. Well Done!

    I would like to tell a story that I hope is not too long for your site. In 1988, my parents had an opportunity to go to Ireland to see the first American football game played there. It was Boston College vs. Army in Dublin. My father had to miss the trip due to work and I was next in line.

    Now, I knew of our Irish heritage (mother’s side) but never gave it much thought. I thought I’d just get a European trip to enjoy.

    We landed in Shannon, collected our rental car and set out for Ennis as we had a week of touring before the day of “The Match”. As we turned out of the airport, I had a very strange feeling. It was deja vu. I had honestly never felt it before, not at that magnitude. The feeling was so strong that I turned to my mother and actually described what she would see around the next bend. I’m still stunned to say that I was right!

    Long story short, I felt that I had “come home”. It was as though I had been away forever and had finally made my way back. To this day, just the thought of Ireland can nearly bring tears to my eyes. Not just for fond memories but for an almost feeling of loss in not being there.

    I will finally return to the “Auld Sod” in May and can bring my wife and daughters with me. I know that they’ll fall in love with Ireland as I did.

    Keep up the good work and God Bless All Here.

    PS-Can’t get to the recipes for Bread & Butter Pudding and the Apple Custard Pie. Any help? Thanks again!

  2. January 21, 2007 11:51 PM

    Thanks for the great story! You’re not the first to get that feeling. In fact, the Irish never ask “How long are you here for?” They only ask “How long are you home?” The Irish today still consider those who left and were distributed around the globe to be part of that uniquely Irish identity.

    The recipe links are working again, you can visit them directly at:
    http://www.irishfireside.com/05applecustardpie.htm
    http://www.irishfireside.com/07breadandbutter.htm

    Glad we a part of your family’s trip to Ireland. Your wife and daughters are in for a real treat.

    Corey

Leave a Reply

